The Mariemont Museum

The Mariemont Museum

From Ferris House to Mariemont Museum

More Than 200 Years of History – And a New Chapter Ahead

Long before the Village of Mariemont was created, this land was home to some of the area’s earliest settlers. In 1799, Major Benjamin Stites sold land in present-day Mariemont to the Ferris brothers. Around 1802, Eliphalet Ferris began construction of what would become known as the Ferris House, with additions continuing through 1812.

Built of sundried brick made from clay collected nearby, the Ferris House is believed to be one of the oldest brick homes in Hamilton County still standing in its original location.

At the Beginning of Mariemont

The Ferris House remained a private residence for more than a century before becoming part of the story of Mariemont itself.

In 1915 the house was purchased by a third party, not disclosed as Mary Emery, in preparation for establishing the community of Mariemont. By the early 1920s, the Mariemont Company acquired the property and used the house as its construction and engineering headquarters. A triangulation station on the roof helped survey the new planned community and Mariemont’s groundbreaking ceremony was held on the front lawn.

The Ferris House was there at the beginning.

A Long-Held Vision

When the Mariemont Company dissolved in the early 1930s, the property was deeded to the Thomas J. Emery Memorial to be devoted to public use for a museum or similar purpose.

Although that vision was not immediately realized, the house continued to serve the community in a variety of ways over the years, including the headquarters of the Daughters of the American Revolution, an antique shop and as professional offices.

In 1982, Dr. Ann Grooms acquired the Ferris House after renting the building for her business, Educational Services Institute, for many years. She became a dedicated steward of this important historic property, maintaining and caring for the building for nearly four decades until her passing in 2019.

A New Chapter Begins

In 2022, Mariemont Preservation Foundation purchased the Ferris House with a vision to preserve and share the stories held within its walls.

Today, the house is undergoing its next transformation: from a historic landmark into the Mariemont Museum.

The museum will tell the stories of Mariemont and the people who shaped it – from the area’s earliest settlers and the Indigenous history of the Little Miami River Valley to Mary Emery’s extraordinary vision for the community. The museum is slated to have its grand opening in July 2027.

Come Explore Our Heritage.

The Mariemont Museum will be an education center that honors our heritage, is filled with inspiring stories, and pays tribute to the extraordinary life and vision of Mary Emery.

Come explore our heritage.
Be inspired by Mary Emery’s legacy.
And ignite your curiosity to learn more.

Last modified: August 28, 2026

Comments are closed.